Finnerty Sideroad Adventure

By: pattihenderson

Jan 23 2011

Category: Weekend Adventures

2 Comments

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:70mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D

Welcome to a real Canadian winter folks!  As my Dad would say, it’s cold enough to freeze the knobs off a brass monkey.  Seeing that I rarely understand my Dad’s sayings, I probably should have asked him what this meant before posting it here… 🙂 Suffice to say, baby it’s cold outside! 

It was into this cold, blustery winter landscape that I bravely packed my photography gear into my Jeep and headed north of Toronto for a great snowy adventure last weekend.  I was actually in search of “THE 2011 Christmas Card Photo.”  I’m wondering if the one above of a Caledon barn will make the cut?  I have driven into the wilds of Caledon before in search of great shots.  It regularly serves up fabulous, sweeping equine vistas once you venture off Airport Road as you near the hills of Hockley Valley.  One such back road is Finnerty Sideroad.  I decided to take this winding horse farm path in search of the perfect wintry shot and I wasn’t disappointed!

  I found beautiful red barns (catch these now as they are a dying breed!), lonely abandoned farm machinery, tree-lined, snow-packed lanes, snowy fence-lined fields and frisky horses.  The sun was that wintry, watery shade of pale yellow as it shone through flakes of snow.  I was in my element!  And very thankful for my rugged, waterproof Roots Alpine hiking boots when I wound up waist deep in a snow-filled ditch getting that “perfect barn shot.”  I declare that the first Vagabond Adventure of 2011 was a success, if only because I experienced the beautiful freedom of the road on a wintry Canadian afternoon. 

If you would like to see some of my snaps from The Finnerty Sideroad Adventure, please visit here, and if any catch your fancy, visit my photo website here.  Have a wonderful weekend!

2 comments on “Finnerty Sideroad Adventure”

  1. Great shot, as for that brass monkey, I get the picture. The term knobs can mean many things and I guess you can guess what it means in this context. A good old Lambton saying for sure!


Leave a comment